Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BMHS Social Studies: BMHS - Holocaust Guide

Social Studies Information and Help for BMHS Students.

Holocaust Research

Use the resources on this page to help you research your topic about the Holocaust.  Below are links to websites, databases, books, and a brief introduction to this topic.   Use the link below to an overview of the Holocaust including some topics that you might like to research.

The Holocaust: a learning site for students - from the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia

Use ISearch to search  INFOhio databases including Berea-Midpark High School Library for your topic.  

 

 

 

Filter your search by using the tabs:

My Library - Books and electronic resources from Berea-Midpark HS Library

Encyclopedias -- All encyclopedia articles on your topic

Basic Sources - All magazines, books, primary source and biographies on your topic.

Advance Sources - Includes all for Basic Sources and scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

Other Access -- Includes all for Advanced Resources plus electronic sources from the Internet.

 

Holocaust Introduction

The Holocaust (from the Greek holokauton, "burnt offering" or "sacrifice") is the term now most commonly used to describe the attempted Nazi genocide of European Jews. Between 1939 and 1945 mass shootings, gassings in specially constructed extermination camps, murderous labor, and other means resulted in the deaths of between 5.1 and 6.2 million Jews. The Nazis themselves referred to the extermination program as the "Final Solution of the Jewish Question." ("Holocaust." Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction, edited by John Merriman and Jay Winter, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006, pp. 1335-1348. World History in Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3447000448/WHIC?u=bere43225&sid=WHIC&xid=52b9197d. Accessed 12 Dec. 2018.)

More information and resources available from Gale World History.

Path to Nazi Genocide

Holocaust Presentation & Project Ideas

Rock your presentation by looking for some killer ways to incorporate other means for showcasing what you've learned to your classmates.  Don't just create another Powerpoint, try something new.  Hopefully, the links below will help you find another create way to Rock Your Presentation......

Rock Your Presentation: Best Alternatives to Powerpoint

Best Online Presentation Tools for Students

Not another PowerPoint: 10 Creative Presentation Tools to Try

 

Holocaust - Primary Resources